Series I’m Reading

Using the theory that “since I do reviews on this blog it serves some useful purpose for my readers to know what books I like,” I’m going to use this post to record the series I’m currently reading.  The fact that it’ll help me remember which books to be on the lookout for is purely incidental to the stated purpose above.

Read as soon as they are released (listed in order of my preference):

Robert Jordan’s and Brandon Sanderson’s Wheel of Time – This is, by far, my favorite series.  I can’t wait for A Memory of Light (1/8/13!).  I know a lot of people criticize WoT.  Yes, I admit that it drags a bit in the middle, and I don’t care for how much time he spends developing truly minor characters.  On the other hand, I love the story, the main characters, and the complexity of the world.

Patrick Rothfuss’ Kingkiller Chronicles – I’ve read through A Wise Man’s Fear.  Very few series have captured me as quickly as this one.  Even though there are only two books, I rank this as my second favorite series of all time.

John Ringo’s Paladin of Shadows – This doesn’t fit well with the rest of the series on this page.  I know this.  It’s not as well written, and it’s not epic fantasy.   Crap, it’s not fantasy at all.  However, I love me some John Ringo popcorn action.  Tiger by the Tail is to be released in January of 2013.

John Ringo’s Troy Rising – I’ve read through The Hot Gate

Read when I get the chance (listed alphabetically by author’s last name):

Peter Brett’s Demon Cycle – I’ve read through Desert Spear.

Benjamin Clayborne’s Mindfire – I’ve read Queen of Mages.

Terry Ervin’s First Civilization’s Legacy – I’ve read Flank Hawk and need to buy Blood Sword.

Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn – I’ve read through Alloy of Law.  I liked the original trilogy.  The latest one didn’t do quite as much for me.  They’re not bad, though, and I’ll probably continue if he writes more.

Brandon Sanderson’s Stormlight Archive – I’ve read The Way of Kings.

SM Stirling’s Novels of the Change – I’ve read through Tears of the Sun.

Brent Weeks’ Lightbringer – I’ve read The Black Prism and need to buy The Blinding Knife.

Never to read again:

Terry Goodkind’s Sword of Truth – I’ve read through Omen Machine (no link provided as I wouldn’t want to cause anyone to buy this book).  I actually liked the series for the most part.  The first book, Wizard’s First Rule, was fantastic.  I get that people grew to dislike his advocating his political viewpoints so strongly, but, up until around Pillars of Creation, I enjoyed reading these, and it’s hard for me to give up on characters I like.  Omen Machine was so dreadful, however, that I simply can’t continue.

George R. R. Martin’s A Song of Fire and Ice – I’ve read through A Dance with Dragons (no link provided as he really doesn’t need any help from me in selling books).  I have no problems with the quality of his work, but it’s just not for me.  I like long series in part because I really get to know and like the characters.  The ones in this series are so dark that I end up not really caring about any of them.  Oh, except for the ones he kills off.

How do you feel about these series?

Leave a Reply

