If You Want to Sell Your Book, Don’t Do a Blog Like Mine

That’s the message of this blog post.  The author’s main point: writers shouldn’t blog about writing.

Seeing as how I do blog about writing, you’d probably think that I disagree with the premise.  I do but not for the reason that you expect.

The author seems to feel that blogging is a great way to sell books, just not blogs about writing.  I take the contrary view.  Blogs, unless you’re already established, are horrible for selling books.  First, it takes a long, long, long time and a lot of effort to develop a following.  Second, once you do get droves of people reading your blog, converting them to buyers is notoriously difficult.  If this blog results in the sell of ten of my books that I wouldn’t have sold otherwise, I’ll be shocked.

Why, then, am I doing this?  I’m glad you asked.

1. It’s fun.

2. It’s great experience.  If I ever do make it big, blogging is essential.  This is a learning process.

3. I’m making connections that I wouldn’t have otherwise made.

4. I think that this blog, eventually, can be of use to people who are in my position of wanting to self publish and market their book.  I started it as a blog about writing.  I can see that the purpose is probably going to shift to more about publishing and marketing.  I have a long road ahead of me in the next six to eight months as I get ready to do both those things.  I’ll document the lessons that I learn here to provide a road map to the people who come after me.

 

4 thoughts on “If You Want to Sell Your Book, Don’t Do a Blog Like Mine

  1. I have no way of tracking where my sales come from, but I do know that a new book will get some sales from my blog because I’ve built up some anticipation for it and usually offers my readers a discount if they get it from Smashwords. But I blog mostly to share my thinking about writing and publishing, and my experiences as a writer. If you write about nothing but your own books, you’ll drive people away. If you write about writing, you may or may not sell any books, but you’ll have some good conversations and learn a lot from your readers.

    • Catana,

      Thank you very much for the comment.

      The point I was trying to make, and maybe I was unsuccessful in my attempt, is that there are much more effective marketing techniques than blogging. If you’re going to do a writing blog, temper any expectation that it’s going to help you sell a lot of books.

      Brian

      • I understood that, Brian. I hope my comment didn’t come across as a criticism. I agree with you, but maybe I expressed it poorly. Seems we’re agreeing, but appear to be talking at cross purposes. 🙂

  2. Catana,

    No problem.

    BTW, did you see my post yesterday with the marketing questions? If you have time and could respond to them, I’d really appreciate it.

    Thanks!

    Brian

Leave a Reply

