Review of Confessions of a D-List Supervillain

In Confessions of a D-List Supervillain, Mr. Bernheimer tells the story of Calvin Stringel, an electrical engineer who makes bad choices.  After a employment dispute with one of the heavyweight superheroes, he decides to turn to crime, but he’s not very good at it.  The world, as it’s wont to do, becomes endangered, and all the do-gooders have been converted to the dark side.  It’s up to Mechani-Cal to save the day.

Why to buy this book: This novel is entertaining from start to finish, a true joy to read and hard to put down.  The author makes fantastic plot choices.  He could have focused on a plot-driven story about saving the world.  Instead, it’s character driven, and the characters, even the minor ones, are fantastic.

Why not to buy the book: It’s written in present tense.  Normally, I hate present tense with a passion.  I’ve literally put down otherwise promising books because of it.  This one drew me in so quickly that I didn’t mind it.  Other than that, I only had minor quibbles such as the use of subjunctive mood.  The protagonist is portrayed as smart and educated; you’d think he’d know to say “if I were” instead of “if I was.”

Bottom Line: I finished Confessions on New Year’s Day, and, already, I feel that it will be a strong contender for my favorite book of the year even considering that A Memory of Light is coming out soon.  I don’t gush about books often, but it’s not often that I read a book I enjoyed this much.  I paid the author the highest possible compliment — the day after finishing this book, I bought another of his novels, and this despite the fact that the new one features unicorns.  There’s no question but that I give this book 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

