Reflections on Blogging after 100 Posts

Today marks my 101st post. Here are my thoughts on the experience and the process:

• I enjoy blogging more than I thought I would.
• I think that my blog is going to help spur more sales of my books than I thought it would. My expectations were really low, and I still don’t think, overall, that it will be financially worth the effort I put into it. All that said, I can see it leading to more direct sales and connects that help drive sales than I anticipated.
• The blog helps make me a better writer by forcing me to organize my thoughts about writing.
• Doing the blog prompted the idea to author a book about writing, which, in turn, justifies to some degree having a blog about writing.
• The blog makes me feel like I’m a part of a community of indie authors despite the fact that I have yet to self publish anything. It seems like there’s this huge network of people out there willing to help each other out and all trying to determine how to manage the constantly changing marketplace. The blog taps into that group in a way that forums don’t.
• I’ve read a lot on how to blog. I despise the advice that bloggers should concentrate on posting blurbs. I hate blurb blogs; I’m not a twitter guy. I want posts that tell me something and fully cover a subject. I’ve seen stuff like this too many times — 3 Guaranteed Ways to Succeed as an Author,” and the post contains 150 words that equate to: write a good book, market it, and repeat. While that is good advice, it’s not exactly helpful. Telling me how to write a good book and how to market it is helpful. Telling me that I should is a waste of my time.

I haven’t done a whole heck of a lot to market my blog. This is what I’ve done so far:

• The best advice I read is that I should produce quality content. This method has been, I think, primarily responsible for the growth of my blog.
• A friend made a suggestion that I think helped. On the forums that I frequented, I used to post a generic link to my blog homepage in my signature. Now, I update my sig with the title of today’s post.
• One forum I frequent has a blog page. When I’ve written about what I feel is a relevant topic to that forum, I post the first few paragraphs and a link. That’s driven some traffic to my site.
• I occasionally browse other blogs and make relevant comments. For each of these, I put a link to my blog. The important thing here, I think, is to make sure that the comments have worth and aren’t spam.

Despite my lack of any real intense effort, my blog growth is exceeding my expectations. Here are some stats:

• Views – 1652
• Followers – 38
• Comments – 153

When I came up with the idea of doing this post for my 101st – way back around my 60th – I hoped for 1000 views and 25 followers. From mid-December on, my blog seems to have gotten much more popular. This week, my slowest day was 25 views. A couple of months ago, a quantity that high would have been cause of celebration.

2 thoughts on “Reflections on Blogging after 100 Posts

  1. Good to hear you’ve found some enjoyment and success with your blog. I have certainly found your posts interesting and helpful. I definitely agree about blurb blogs (good phrase). Much more interesting when there’s some substance to posts.

Leave a Reply

