Review of Zero Sight

In Zero Sight, Mr. Shier tells the story of Dieter Resnick, a high school student who discovered long ago that he had a special ability to see lines of movement before they happen. When his life is threatened, he finds out that he can do a lot more than that.

Why to buy this book: It’s a good read and well-written. Usually, I have nitpicky things to say about the style, but only one minor issue stood out in this book. I read it straight through in a couple of days and didn’t want to put it down. It’s also a good value at $4. Despite plot elements that seem at times reminiscent of a couple of well-known series, it’s a unique, character-driven story, and I liked the characters.

Why not to buy the book: At times, it feels like it’s part Harry Potter and part Twilight, and, despite the strength of the story, that feeling still seeped through. The only minor quibble I have is that the tone of the book changed quite a bit from how it started.

Bottom Line: It’s a solid, fun read that I recommend you check out. I don’t usually read urban fantasy, but, after this experience, I may check out more of it. However, Zero Sight didn’t have that indefinable “special” quality that would elevate it to my favorite list. Overall, I give it a solid 4 stars.

Leave a Reply

