Cover for Abuse of Power

AoP

As you might have noticed from the distinct lack of images used for this blog, I’m not a graphics guy. I think that, overall, this trait makes getting cover work done a much simpler process. I tell someone who, presumably, knows what they’re doing what I want, sit back until they’re done, and am impressed with the end result.

Since I’m giving Abuse of Power away and won’t make a dime off it, I didn’t have a huge budget for it. My plan was no more than $100 for editing and cover combined. I ended up spending just over $97 on the edit and $40 on the cover. Oh well. Budgets are made to be blown, right?

For my first foray into procuring cover art, I took the advice from How to Make a Killing on Kindle and tried elance.com. I can’t remember the minimum bid for services, but it was high. Between that site and another one, one required $200 and the other $300. I wasn’t going to spend two to three times my entire budget on the cover, thank you very much!

I discovered that the cheapest option was to Google premade cover art. You can buy the right to use an image and have a graphic artist put your title and name on it for $20 to $50. The problem is, you have to wade through a lot of sites to find what you want.

My solution? This link for the Deviant Art Job Offers Forum. You simply post what you want and how much you want to pay. Within literally minutes, I made contact with someone who had something that would work. Fantastic.

I chose to go with Neil Hutchison am quite happy with the results. You can see his other work here. It’s nothing like what I would have come up with on my own, and that’s a very good thing! If you need cover art, consider using him.

The only hitch in the process was that Neil wanted to know what dimensions I needed. I had no idea, so I posed the question over at Mythic Scribes. Turns out the answer is 1600 by 2400 pixels at 150 dpi. Presumably, this answer will work for you as well until such a time as the screens on e-devices get better.

Overall, the process was much easier than I had any right to expect. Neil emailed me a proof, I Paypalled him $40, and he emailed me the full version.

Let me know what you think of the cover.

Leave a Reply

